help us end the

addiction crisis

192 people die of A Drug overdose Every DAy.

Last year, over 70,000 people died of drug overdoses alone, and people are now more likely to die from an overdose than they are a car crash. The numbers continue to get worse, which is why over 50 members of the freshmen class in the House of Representatives have come together to tackle this crisis that is devastating our nation.

We know that addiction affects everyone - and we want to hear your story. Use the button above to share your story or ideas about the addiction crisis. With your help we can #EndtheAddictionCrisis.

If you are seeking treatment for substance abuse/addiction or mental health problems, call the Center for Substance Abuse Treatment (CSAT) 24-hour National Treatment Referral Hotline (1-800-662-HELP). For additional resources, go to:


We want to hear your story

When my 24-year old nephew Ian died of an opioid overdose in 2016, my family experienced the heartbreak of losing a loved one to addiction firsthand. No family should have to wrestle with this kind of grief, yet over 70,000 people died of drug overdoses last year alone.

My colleagues and I are ready to fight back. That’s why we’ve launched the Freshmen Working Group on Addiction. This working group will lend fresh eyes to one of the most devastating crises facing our country and serve as a catalyst for bipartisan cooperation and action.

But we can’t do this without your help. Use this site to share your story about an encounter you’ve had with addiction, or efforts you have seen to combat addiction that you’d like us to know about. Good ideas come from everywhere - and we want to hear from you.

- Congressman David Trone (MD-06),

Founder of the Freshmen Working Group on Addiction



Kelly Armstrong (R-ND)

Cindy axne (d-ia)

Jim baird (R-in)

Tim Burchett (R-TN)

sean casten (d-il)

Gil Cisneros (D-CA)

Ben Cline (R-VA)

TJ Cox (D-CA)

Angie Craig (D-MN)

Dan Crenshaw (R-TX)

Jason Crow (D-CO)

joe cunningham (d-sc)

Madeleine Dean (D-PA)

Antonio Delgado (D-NY)

lizzie fletcher (D-tx)

sylvia garcia (d-tx)

Jared golden (d-me)

lance gooden (r-tx)

michael guest (r-ms)

deb haaland (d-nm)

Jahana hayes (D-ct)

Kevin hern (R-ok)

Katie Hill (D-CA)

Kendra horn (d-ok)

steven horsford (d-nv)

Chrissy Houlahan (d-PA)

Dusty Johnson (R-SD)

andy kim (d-nj)

Ann Kirkpatrick (D-AZ)

Susie Lee (D-NV)

andy levin (d-mi)

Mike Levin (D-CA)

elaine luria (d-va)

Ben McAdams (D-UT)

lucy mcbath (d-ga)

Dan Meuser (R-PA)

joe neguse (d-co)

Chris Pappas (D-NH)

dean phillips (d-mN)

Guy Reschenthaler (R-PA)

Denver Riggleman (R-VA)

Max Rose (D-NY)

harley rouda (d-ca)

mary gay scanlon (d-pa)

Kim schrier (d-wa)

Donna Shalala (D-FL)

Mikie Sherrill (D-NJ)

elissa slotkin (d-mi)

Abigail Spanberger (D-VA)

greg stanton (d-az)

Bryan Steil (R-WI)

Van Taylor (R-TX)

william timmons (r-sc)

Rashida Tlaib (D-MI)

Lori Trahan (D-MA)

lauren underwood (d-Il)

david trone (d-md)

Steve Watkins (R-KS)

Jennifer Wexton (D-VA)

Susan Wild (D-PA)